SUMMER 2020 TALK STORY SERIES


Hachijōjima: The Language Isle

Left: Map of Japan, showing the location of Hachijōjima

 

Right: View from Osaka Tunnel on Hachijōjima

(by Nesnad/Wikimedia Commons)

Virtual Talk-Story with David Iannucci, PhD

THURSDAY, JULY 30 ǀ 7:00PM – 8:00PM (HST)

10:00PM – 11:00PM (PDT)

FRIDAY, JULY 31 ǀ 2:00PM – 3:00PM (JST)

Join us for the fourth virtual talk-story session with linguist David Iannucci, as he introduces the small island of Hachijōjima and the severely endangered Hachijō language that is spoken there. He will explain the history and current vitality of the Hachijō language, how it differs from Standard Japanese, and provide anecdotes of his experiences on the island.

register button.png

Dr. Iannucci received his PhD in Linguistics from the University of Hawai`i at Mānoa in 2019. He briefly visited Hachijōjima twice for linguistic fieldwork, consulting community members and collecting information for his dissertation, “The Hachijō Language of Japan: Phonology and Historical Development.” As a linguist, his primary focus is on the grammar and history of Japanese and of the Japonic language family. When not geeking out over language, he works as the lead software developer at the UH Economic Research Organization.

The Japan-America Society of Hawaii was founded in 1976 to promote understanding and friendship between the people of Japan and the United States through the special and unique perspective of Hawaii.

ABOUT US
ADDRESS

1600 Kapiolani Blvd. Ste. 204

Honolulu, HI 96814

Monday - Friday 8 am - 4:30 pm

Phone: (808) 524-4450

Fax:      (808) 524-4451

admindir@jashawaii.org

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon

Associated Organizations

© 2020 by Japan-America Society of Hawaii

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • YouTube